Ranking The Last 10 NBA MVP Award Winners From Worst To Best


The player named NBA MVP is the one who had the best season, putting up exceptional numbers, making a big impact on the court and helping his team win games.

RELATED: 5 NBA Teammate Rivalries That Got Resolved (& 5 That Never Did)

This time we will review the last 10 NBA MVP award winners, and frankly all of these players deserved this distinction due to their excellent performance all season long. However, there were a couple of players who had such amazing seasons that they make the other MVP winners look ordinary. Without further ado, below we rank the last 10 NBA MVP award winners from worst to best.


10 Stephen Curry (2014-15)

Among the last 10 NBA MVP winners, Stephen Curry was undoubtedly the least impressive. In the 2014-15 season, Steph recorded 23.8 points, 7.7 assists, 4.3 rebounds and 2.0 steals per game. Those are excellent numbers, but that season James Harden, LeBron James and Russell Westbrook had better traditional numbers than Curry. However, in terms of advanced stats, Curry led the league in box plus/minus (9.9) and win shares per 48 minutes (.288).

9 James Harden (2017-18)

In the 2017-18 season, James Harden recorded 30.4 points, 8.8 assists, 5.4 rebounds, 1.8 steals and 4.4 turnovers per game. In terms of advanced stats, he led the league in player efficiency rating (29.8), win shares (15.4), and box plus/minus (9.9). It was a terrific season for The Beard, and a well-deserved MVP award. The Funny thing is that the following season Harden was much better overall, scoring 36.1 points per game, but he finished second in the voting.

8 Kevin Durant (2013-14)

Kevin Durant has been an exceptional player throughout his career, but his best years were undoubtedly with the Oklahoma City Thunder, with whom he won four scoring titles and a well-deserved MVP award. In the 2013-14 season, KD scored a league-leading 32 points per game (career high as well), with 7.4 rebounds, 5.5 assists, 1.3 steals and 0.7 blocks per game. To top it off, Durant had 19.2 win shares and a 9.6 value over replacement player.

7 Giannis Antetokounmpo (2018-19)

We previously mentioned that James Harden had a monster performance in the 2018-19 season, scoring 36.1 points per game, and the only reason Harden wasn’t named MVP was Giannis Antetokounmpo. That campaign The Greek Freak recorded 27.7 points, 12.5 rebounds, 5.9 assists, 1.5 blocks and 1.3 steals per game, a true all-rounder. Giannis also led the NBA in player efficiency rating (30.9) and win shares per 48 minutes (.292). It was a tremendous season.

6 Giannis Antetokounmpo (2019-20)

Incredibly Giannis Antetokounmpo managed to outdo himself the following season. He increased his player efficiency rating to 31.9 and recorded a box plus/minus of 11.5, although his VORP decreased 0.8 points from the previous year.

RELATED: The 10 Best Players In The NBA Right Now, Ranked

In terms of traditional stats, The Alphabet recorded 29.5 points, 13.6 rebounds, 5.6 assists, 1.0 steals and 1.0 blocks per game. They were very similar seasons for Giannis, but 2019-20 was slightly better, and it would have been a steal if he wasn’t named MVP.

5 Nikola Jokić (2020-21)

Nikola Jokić made his NBA debut in the 2015-16 season, and since then he has progressively improved his game, until the 2020-21 season when he erupted. Per game, the Joker had 26.4 points, 10.8 rebounds, 8.3 assists, 1.3 steals and 0.7 blocks per game, absolutely astounding numbers.

RELATED: 10 Bold Predictions For The 2022-23 NBA Season

Jokić had 31.3 player efficiency rating and a 12.1 box plus/minus. This Serbian center fairly beat Joel Embiid, Stephen Curry and Giannis Antetokounmpo, who all had excellent seasons as well, in the MVP race.

4 LeBron James (2012-13)

LeBron James won his fourth NBA MVP award in the 2012-13 season, becoming the fifth player in NBA history to be named MVP at least four times, joining Wilt Chamberlain, Bill Russell, Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. King James averaged 26.8 points, 8.0 rebounds, 7.3 assists, 1.7 steals and 0.9 blocks per game. Likewise, LeBron led the NBA in VORP (9.9), PER (31.6), win shares (19.3) and box plus/minus (11.7).

3 Stephen Curry (2015-16)

For the second consecutive year, Stephen Curry was awarded the MVP, and this time he certainly had merit, which is precisely why he received 100% of the first-place votes.The Baby-Faced Assassin led the Golden State Warriors’ legendary 73-9 season, playing 79 games and averaging 30.1 points, 6.7 assists, 5.4 rebounds and 2.1 steals per game. Most impressive of all, Stephen Curry made 402 threes, setting an all-time record, which will probably never be broken. In addition, Curry had a 31.5 PER, 17.9 win shares, and a 9.5 VORP.

2 Russell Westbrook (2016-17)

Russell Westbrook is the all-time leader in triple doubles, with 194, so it’s no wonder he has averaged a triple double per game in four seasons, including 2016-17. In that campaign, Beastbrook had 31.6 points, 10.7 rebounds and 10.4 assists per game, finishing with 42 triple doubles, which is absolutely insane. In addition, Westbrook averaged 1.6 steals per game, with a 30.6 player efficiency rating, 11.1 box plus/minus and a 9.3 VORP. A well-deserved MVP award for Russell Westbrook.

1 Nikola Jokić (2021-22)

Just when we thought Nikola Jokić had reached his peak, he improved in practically every aspect of the game and, therefore, it was impossible not to reward him with his second consecutive MVP. Jokić had a 32.9 player efficiency rating, which is an all-time record. Likewise, he had 13.7 box plus/minus and a 9.8 VORP.

In 74 games, Jokić averaged 27.1 points, 13.8 rebounds, 7.9 assists, 1.5 steals and 0.9 blocks per game, recording 19 triple doubles. It was an insane season for Jokić, and that is why he has been the best MVP award winner of the last 10 years.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here